TWO ONE-STORY JOINT VILLAS WITH PATIOS

Aïre, Geneva 2005 - 2006

Français / English

The following two residences are situated in a residential zone on an oblong parcel. The lack of panoramic view in the area arbitrated an introverted plan of one story, articulated around open-sky patios. Encrusted in the built volume, the patios allow the garden and the seasons to penetrate the interior of the habitat, whilst remaining calm and intimate transitional zones. Their faces, constructed entirely of glass, represent the indispensability of natural light and, in contrast, authorise a vigorous unity between the brick walls.


The cross-section of the building is determined by the soft slope of the terrain. Hence, three steps lower into the living room, augmenting its height, and bringing the space level with the patio and the garden.


Inserted into the roofing, openings distribute zenithal light and ventilation of the central sanitary zones. Another opening is situated above the staircase, summoning light until the underground floor. The sliding blinds allow for the closure of the patios. Without diminishing the amount of natural light, they further reinforce the intimate character of the residence by enclosing part of the garden.


The plan, extremely fluid, offers access to the exterior from every room and generates a particular lifestyle by extending the inside to the outside without cease. In succession, a second exterior circulation links the bedrooms, the large patio and the winter garden.


The low structure is the direct consequence of this plan that facilitates the integration of the two residences in their built frame. It determined the choice of brick as the main load-carrying material. Associated with cement, aluminum and glass, it expresses itself paradoxically as a contemporary material. Without finishing touches, it captures natural light and was selected for its adequacy to the climate as well as its durability.



Published in Architecture Suisse, N°177,

June 2010.

angledroit Architectes

Français / English

DEUX VILLAS MITOYENNES A PATIOS DE PlAIN-PIED

Aïre, Genève 2005 - 2006

Ces deux maisons jumelles sont érigées en zone villa sur une parcelle oblongue. L'absence de vues dans le quartier a déterminé un plan introverti, de plain-pied, articulé autour de patios à ciel ouvert et en pleine terre. Creusés dans le volume bâti, ils laissent pénétrer le jardin et les saisons à l'intérieur de l'habitation et sont également un espace intermédiaire, calme et privatif. Leurs faces, entièrement vitrées représentent l'essentiel du dispositif d'acheminement de la lumière naturelle et autorisent en contrepartie une forte unité des murs de briques.


La coupe du bâtiment est déterminée par la pente douce du terrain. Trois marches descendent ainsi vers le séjour, en augmentent sensiblement la hauteur, et le mettent de plain-pied avec le patio principal et le jardin.


En toiture, des ouvertures distribuent l'éclairage zénithal et l'aération des zones sanitaires centrées dans le plan. Au-dessus de l'escalier, l’une d’elles achemine la lumière jusqu'au sous-sol.

Les persiennes coulissantes permettent la fermeture des patios. Sans altérer l'apport de lumière naturelle, elles renforcent encore le caractère intime de l'habitation en englobant une partie du jardin.


Le plan, très fluide, offre un accès à l'extérieur depuis chaque espace et génère un mode de vie particulier en prolongeant sans cesse le dedans vers le dehors. Une seconde circulation extérieure, en enfilade, relie les chambres, le grand patio et le jardin d’hiver.


Le gabarit très bas est la conséquence directe de ce plan qui a facilité l'intégration de ces habitations dans le cadre bâti. Il a déterminé le choix de la brique apparente comme matériau porteur principal. Associée au béton, à l'aluminium et au verre, elle s'affirme paradoxalement comme matériau contemporain. Sans finition, elle accroche la lumière naturelle et a été choisie pour son adéquation au climat, sa durabilité et sa patine future.



Publié dans Architecture Suisse, N°177,

en juin 2010.

angledroit Architectes